Time…Inspiration from Faulkner

“I give you the mausoleum of all hope and desire…I give it to you not that you may remember time, but that you might forget it now and then for a moment and not spend all of your breath trying to conquer it.”
-William Faulkner

This is one of my favorite Faulknerian tidbits of wisdom. I also believe it was during this precise moment that I fell in love with his writing. It is during this time of exams where as soon as I need to be productive, I end up being inspired and unproductively productive (redundant? I think not). I think writers alike can share the experience of being forced to write, and the wonderful feeling of writing just at that moment when life says you shouldn’t. I should be studying for my British Literature class, yet I find myself being overwhelmed with all my thoughts.

Time. One of the most precedent themes in life, in literature. If you think about it, everything is labeled, defined by time- at what time we experiences things, deadlines, the concept of the past, present, and future. This concept inspires writers from all ages, all different times, because ironically enough, it is timeless.

Even so, it seems that my university and professors truly do not appreciate that idea…Anyway, this is why I am here in the first place, as an unexperienced blogger and procrastinating college student, to expunge my thoughts into this cyberworld. Perhaps, it is for relief. Why does any one person blog really? There are too many reasons…but I would like to talk about the concept of time, especially during finals week.

I see sleep-deprived students surround me, making me feel like I am floating in a sea of people, completely opposite of my peers. No, I am not stressed. No, I am not sleep deprived. Yes, I should have worked out today. Did i? No. But, I like to thing about the studying process as I do about the writing process. Should I force out my work, or should I walk away from it, come back wholly prepared to be consumed by my work? I choose the latter.

It’s like the Faulkner quote above; while life doesn’t literally hand us a watch…it gives us time. Our lives are all the time we have, without getting into any religious, afterlife discussion that is. I rather hold the concept of time preciously, not constantly attempt (and fail) to control it. Why should I spend all my time trying to conquer something that is both ever changing and inevitable? I would like to take Faulkner’s idea of time and apply it to my life, and similarly, the lives of you..whoever you are, most especially if you are under stressful circumstances.

1. Breathe. Ok, thank you. Now that I am sure that you are in fact breathing, and haven’t died of boredom, continue to the next step.

2. Step back. From your phone, distractions, sources of stress, everything. Step back from everything that is overwhelming you and attempt to relax, forget about time. Maybe write if that works for you, yoga, sketching, listening to or playing music. Whatever your Nietzsche is.

Realize that you have one of the most precious gifts, time. You are alive, hopefully well-stop trying to constrain your time, and rather do something worthwhile, that you enjoy. Everyone deserves a break, even if it is finals week.

Signing off, hasta luego.

Leave a Reply

